Taste of Summer at Central

28 Apr

I am on the hunt for the perfect summer drink. Something refreshing, not too sweet and a taste of unexpected. I asked my right hand lady, Ayni Raimondi and our dear friend Nina Lary to join me at my first stop: Central. Central is nestled up against my favorite downtown venue, Valentine’s on SW Ankeny. The colors are metal, brick and dark wood, the lighting is low and seductive, and a large vintage fan that hangs from the ceiling casually stirs the air. Our server, Alison was so great, I was tempted to ask her to sit with us and our bartender Justin Diaz whipped up 3 cocktails that had me ready to put on my swimsuit.

Paper Plane: bourbon, Amaro Nonino, and Aperol.

This cocktail was like biting into a grapefruit, sweet and bitter.

Airmail: Jamaican rum, honey syrup, lime, and sparkling white wine.

This was Ayni’s favorite, so I will use her description: “dried apricot, making out in Italy, with a slightly herbal aftertaste” .

Gordon’s Cup: gin, muddled lime, mint, cucumber simple syrup, salt, pepper, and lime juice.

Not only do Nina and I love striped tops and red lipstick, but this cocktail was hands down our favorite. It was fresh, light, and the salt and pepper was just the unexpected I was looking for.

Thanks Justin!

p.s. their crepes are killer. Shown above is the salmon, poached egg, avocado, chevre (which we got without, so their gracious chef added extra avacado) and lime. Paired with the Airmail, true summer perfection!

3 Responses to “Taste of Summer at Central”

  1. Ayni April 29, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    we should probably make out in italy again soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DJ Magic Beans, DJ K Fizzy, DJ Jen O @ Valentines « ms.ms. pdx - May 2, 2011

    […] Thursday! It’s Spring! Get on your bike! yourself a cocktail at Central! Go next door to Valentines and shake it on out to these lovelies playing you […]

Leave a Reply

