My Mentor, My Muse

24 Nov

Today is my mentor’s birthday. The woman who grabbed my hand almost five years ago and brought me to see a birth on my day of birth. Which lead to my participating in 50 more births, making an island my home, and a new way of living.

Ibu Robin is a woman who changed my life.

Ibu Robin Lim is my not only my mentor but also my muse. She is tireless in her advocating for women and children, beginning at that first moment a baby has the impulse to enter this world. She’s changed the health culture of Bali – where hemorrhaging following childbirth was the leading cause of death for women. She’s changed my life and set me on a path of work that sometimes seems too daunting to pursue, too overwhelming to make a dent, and then I think of her work, her life: every dollar in is a dollar out to help another, every moment of rest is an opportunity to create more action, every person met is an object of love and compassion. She inspires me.

For her birthday, today, I ask that you take a minute to learn about the work she is doing; allow yourself to be inspired by her fearless commitment and if you are so inclined, to join her.

Yayasan Bumi Sehat in Bali, Indonesia, a donation-run free clinic, is home base for Robin’s work, though they additionally have a clinic in Aceh, Sumatra (set up in direct response to the 2004 Asian Tsunami) and provide disaster response when need arises (e.g. Haiti, Yogyakarta, Padang).

These two clinics provide over 17,000 health consultations for both children and adults each year and welcome approx 600 new babies each year as well. You can learn more about the Alexander Langer peace price winner, Ibu Robin from the documentary Guerrilla Midwife , fulfill her birthday wish by supporting the clinic here, or go to Bali, work with her, and learn how to live by following your heart.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

(video contains birth scenes)

One Response to “My Mentor, My Muse”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hero « MS.MS. the blog - March 12, 2011

    […] Ive already shared how much I absolutely adore my friend and mentor Ibu Robin Lim, whom I worked for and with in Bali […]

Leave a Reply

